Stats NZ has a new website.

For new releases go to

As we transition to our new site, you'll still find some Stats NZ information here on this archive site.

  • Share this page to Facebook
  • Share this page to Twitter
  • Share this page to Google+
Related classifications and standards

New Zealand

The classification is also used as part of the usual residence and usual residence N years ago classifications. The classification is used by other parts of the Official Statistical System in New Zealand.


The classification is linked with the Codes for the representation of names of countries and their subdivisions (ISO, nd) and aligned with the Standard Australian Classification of Countries (SACC) (Australian Bureau of Statistics, 2008a and 2008b).

Amendments to the standard classification are a result of the renaming or restructuring of countries.

The differences between the NZSCC and the SACC are:

  • Statistics NZ considers the Ross Dependency to be part of New Zealand for statistical purposes. Category
    1201: ‘New Zealand’ in the NZSCC therefore includes the Ross Dependency. In the SACC, the
    Ross Dependency has the code 1607 (in minor group 16: Antarctica). This difference is considered to have little statistical significance.
  • The NZSCC has only one-third level unit in the minor group Antarctica, 1601: Antarctica. The SACC separately identifies the seven individual Antarctic territories, including the Ross Dependency. As a result, the code 1601 represents Antarctica as a whole in the NZSCC and Adelie Land (France) in the SACC. The codes 1602–1607 are not used in the NZSCC. This difference is considered to have little statistical significance.
  • The SACC splits the major group North-East Asia into two minor groups: Chinese Asia (includes Mongolia), and Japan and the Koreas. This was done to derive a ‘total China’ and to encompass ‘Chinese’ countries which are important in the Australian context. In the NZSCC, the major group North-East Asia contains a single minor group as preferred by New Zealand users of the classification. This difference results in a number of different country codes between the two classifications.
  • There are small differences in numbering between NZSCC and SACC in the minor group Caribbean, 8400 due to the different recognition of territories within the former Netherlands Antilles. Curacao and St Maarten (Dutch part) have codes 8433 and 8434, respectively, in the NZSCC. In the SACC, the equivalent codes are 8434 and 8435, while Bonaire, Sint Eustatius, and Saba is coded 8433.
  • The SACC has separate codes for Guernsey and Jersey. In the NZSCC, these are included together as Channel Islands.
  • The two classifications contain some differences in country names. These differences are due to the historical treatment of country titles and user requirements. In some cases the differences reflect the official titles recognised by the government of each country. The differences are noted in the table below. 

 Naming differences between the New Zealand and Australian country classifications

New Zealand Standard Classification of Countries  Standard Australian Classification of Countries 
Vatican City State Holy See
Russia Russian Federation
Gaza Strip/Palestine/West Bank Gaza Strip and West Bank
Myanmar Myanmar, The Republic of the Union of
China, People’s Republic of China (excludes SARs and Taiwan)
Hong Kong (Special Administrative Region) Hong Kong (SAR of China)
Korea, Democratic People’s Republic of  Korea, Democratic People’s Republic of (North)
Korea, Republic of Korea, Republic of (South)
Viet Nam Vietnam
Pitcairn Island Pitcairn Islands
Faeroe Islands Faroe Islands
Macau (Special Administrative Region) Macau (SAR of China)
St Maarten (Dutch part) Sint Maarten (Dutch part)
Bolivia Bolivia, Plurinational State of
Venezuela Venezuela, Bolivarian Republic of
Congo Congo, Republic of
Congo, the Democratic Republic of the Congo, Democratic Republic of
No equivalent category Aland Islands
No equivalent category St Barthelemy
No equivalent category St Martin (French Part)
No equivalent category Bonaire, Sint Eustatius, and Saba 
Source: Statistics New Zealand (1999) and the Australian Bureau of Statistics (2011)
  • Share this page to Facebook
  • Share this page to Twitter
  • Share this page to Google+
  • Share this page to Facebook
  • Share this page to Twitter
  • Share this page to Google+